Hebrews 3:1 ~ S.O.A.P. vs.1

Scripture: “Therefore, holy brothers, who share in the heavenly calling, fix your thoughts on Jesus, the apostle and high priest whom we confess.”

Observation: The author of Hebrews is writing to fellow believers and reminding them that Jesus suffered, was tempted, and will be with those who are tempted (2:18) (therefore) (3:1) As companions of Christ – they too will partake in the sufferings of Jesus Christ – but they are to keep their eyes fixed on Christ.

Application: As a believer, I “know” that I am called to partake in the sufferings of Christ – but the bottom line is – am I prepared? Am I willing? Do I consider the cost of following Christ as a sacrifice or as an honor? Does my obedience end at the cross? Keeping my eyes fixed on Jesus will keep what’s important in front of me. If I look around, or take my eyes off of Him, I become distracted, fearful, and tempted – just what the enemy wants.

Prayer: Father, You have given us Scripture to teach, to admonish, to warn, to encourage. May we take what we are learning and let it soak into the deep recesses of our hearts. May we draw from the teachings in those times we need to remember what You would have us do. Help me to keep my eyes fixed on You. May I consider the cost of following You not as a sacrifice – for You paid the ultimate sacrifice – following You should be my gift back to You, serving You with joy. May I always serve You with joy. Amen.

Leave a Reply

