Hebrews 2:14-17 ~ S.O.A.P. vs14-15

Scripture:14 Since the children have flesh and blood, he too shared in their humanity so that by his death he might break the power of him who holds the power of death—that is, the devil— 15 and free those who all their lives were held in slavery by their fear of death. 16 For surely it is not angels he helps, but Abraham’s descendants. 17 For this reason he had to be made like them,[k] fully human in every way, in order that he might become a merciful and faithful high priest in service to God, and that he might make atonement for the sins of the people.”

Observation: Jesus became flesh so He could die a human death  – BUT through His resurrection He broke the power death has over us and we are victorious through His blood when we accept Him as Saviour.

Application: Without Jesus I would be floundering through this life, lost, and searching for meaning. Worse yet, I would go to hell, and face eternal separation from God when I die. I am so thankful Jesus loves me so much that He became sin for me and died for me. I am thankful he conquered death – and in your face to the enemy He will return again to bring me Home one day.

Prayer: Lord, I cannot even begin to offer thanks for what You have done for me on the cross, and in my life. The sacrifice You made for me, a sinner, ungrateful, unpure, unholy, so I could be with You for eternity isn’t even in my comprehension. Like Mercy Me sings, I can only imagine what that day will bring when I stand before my King. If I can even stand. You, oh Lord, are so Holy, we cannot even imagine being in the same heavens as You  – and yet that’s what You want – and that’s what Jesus died for – so thank You. Thank You. Amen.

Leave a Reply

