Hebrews 1:13-14 ~ S.O.A.P. vs14

Scripture: “To which of the angels did God ever say, “Sit at my right hand until I make your enemies a footstool for your feet”? 14 Are not all angels ministering spirits sent to serve those who will inherit salvation?”

Observation:  Angels are servants who (will) serve believers who (will) rule in God’s kingdom.

Application: I believe this speaks to the future kingdom of God. I never thought of angels serving believers – I always thought of angels serving only God. (I need to do more research on this verse) I know there are angels among us on earth, but this sounds more future tense – and it speaks of believers – so do non-believers have angels serving them? This verse sounds like they don’t, but I wouldn’t rule out that angels aren’t used by God to direct a lost person to where God wants him to be. I think there may be different jobs for different angels? Oh my.

Prayer: Oh Lord, how jumbled is my brain – trying to comprehend these verses! Your ways are so much higher than my ways and I cannot begin to understand even about angels and how they serve. I guess all I need to really understand is that You are Sovereign, and You work Your Will for me how You see best. The more I study Your Word, the more I realize how little I know. Help me to know You more, and to know more of You. Show me what I need to know, and let the rest go to Your sovereign hands. You created angels for a reason, and that’s all I need to know. You created me for a reason, and that’s all I need to know. Help me to rest in that knowledge, and to be obedient to what it is You created me for, as the angels serve You, may I also serve you. Amen.

Leave a Reply

