Hebrews 1:5-6 ~ S.O.A.P. vs. 5

Scripture: “For to which of the angels did God ever say, “You are my Son;  today I have become your Father”? Or again, “I will be his Father, and he will be my Son”? And again, when God brings his firstborn into the world, he says, “Let all God’s angels worship him.”

Observation: Angels are created beings, but Christ is superior to the angels, and has been given authority over them. Christ is seated at the right hand of God, His work completed – the angels continue to serve.

Application: It’s ironic that so much credit is given to angels today – and yet isn’t it truly God that gives the angels their “working orders”? Isn’t it God who instills any “power” to them? Since they are created beings, they can only do what is allowable by their creator, I would think – and yet in today’s society, what people credit to angels is put above God at times. We need to remember that God created angels for a purpose, but we also need to remember that Lucifer was once an angel – and it was his desire to be like God that cost him eternity with God. We need to be cautious with our attraction to angels and recognize that ALL power comes from God, the Creator of the Universe, and look to Jesus, the author and finisher of our faith.

Prayer: Lord, Help me to focus on You more every day instead of anything that might distract me from getting closer to You. Remove those thoughts from my mind if they become too strong. I believe You send angels to minister to me, yet I also recognize that there are angels of the enemy waiting to destroy my faith. Give me discernment and wisdom to recognize what is truly from You and to flee from what is not. Amen.

Leave a Reply

