Hebrews 1:1-4 ~ S.O.A.P vs.3

Scripture: In the past God spoke to our ancestors through the prophets at many times and in various ways, but in these last days he has spoken to us by his Son,whom he appointed heir of all things, and through whom also he made the universe. The Son is the radiance of God’s glory and the exact representation of his being, sustaining all things by his powerful word. After he had provided purification for sins, he sat down at the right hand of the Majesty in heaven.So he became as much superior to the angels as the name he has inherited is superior to theirs.

Observation: Jesus is Divine in nature and reflects God because He is God – speaking this world into existence – continually holding this Universe together – became our sacrifice on the cross, is our High Priest, BUT unlike the high priests of the OT, sat down b/c His work is complete

Application: How often do I really look at Jesus as God Incarnate? So often I separate the Trinity and keep them separate. I know that Jesus came as a man and died – I know that God is His Father – but do I really, truly understand the God-Man that Jesus is? The power that He came with? That thought is so overwhelming to me when I look at the Cross and try to understand His sacrifice as a man, yet His ability to walk away as God

Prayer: Father, these thoughts of who You are in these verses are overwhelming to me, especially as we head into Easter week, looking at the Cross, and what You did for a world full of sinners. Thank You for being the sacrificial lamb. Thank You for being my High Priest. Thank You for those words on the Cross, “It is finished.”. Amen.