I Have Found My Sheep that was lost…

 

(S): Luke 15:3-6 ~  So he told them this parable:  “What man of you, having a hundred sheep, if he has lost one of them, does not leave the ninety-nine in the open country, and go after the one that is lost, until he finds it?  And when he has found it, he lays it on his shoulders, rejoicing.  And when he comes home, he calls together his friends and his neighbors, saying to them, ‘Rejoice with me, for I have found my sheep that was lost.’

(O):  Shepherds care for, guide, and protect their sheep. When even one is lost, they leave the rest of the flock to look for it. When they find the lost sheep they lovingly carry it home, and invite others to rejoice with them.

(A): Our pastors are today’s shepherds, who have been called to care for, guide, and protect their flock. When one wanders away, are they too busy focusing on the rest of the flock to care? Or do they go after the one, lovingly carry them back to the fold, and invite others to rejoice with him? I’ve been in churches where unfortunately this has been the case. The larger the flock, the easier it is to wander away, to get lost, to be forgotten, unless the shepherd is like Jesus, willing to go after those who care morewander.

(P): Lord, even though I am not a shepherd, please help me be caring to those you place in my path. Let me be willing to leave my areas of comfort and go after those who have wandered away. Thank you for loving me so much that you came searching for me when I was lost.

Leave a Reply

