This Man Receives Sinners…

interfered

S: Luke 15:1-2 ~ “Now the tax collectors and sinners were all drawing near to hear him.  And the Pharisees and the scribes grumbled, saying, “This man receives sinners and eats with them.”

O: : As Jesus prepared to speak, 2 groups waited for Him – the law breaking “sinners” and the law abiding “saints”

A: What a stark contrast these 2 verses portray! While “sinners” gathered to be fed – the “teachers of the law” gathered around to devour – While the “tax collectors and sinners” came with ears to hear – the “Pharisees and teachers of the law” came with contempt on their lips. While the “sinners” came with empty hearts – the “Pharisees and teachers of the law” came with condemnation in their hearts. Oh, how many times I am like the Pharisees and teachers of the law – ready to offer judgment and condemnation before I hear the Word of God spoken… Puffing myself up b/c I have been a keeper of the law for X amount of years…

P: O, Lord, forgive me for those times I close my eyes and ears to what is around me. Forgive me for putting myself above others when indeed, I am no more, no less, than any other. Lord, I am a sinner, saved by grace. May I sit at Your feet like Mary and feast on Your Goodness…And, oh yes, let it be said of me, “This woman welcomes sinners and eats with them.” In Your Holy Name, let it be so, Amen.

Leave a Reply

