I am the Vine…

Memory Verse: “I am the Vine, you are the branches. If you remain in Me, and I in you, you will bear much fruit; apart from Me you can do nothing.” ~ John 15:5

 Scripture: “Very early in the morning, while it was still dark, Jesus got up, left the house and went off to a solitary   place, where He prayed.” ~ Mark 1:35

Observation: Jesus, the Son of God, took time to be alone with His Father. His ministry depended on His connecting, and remaining connected, with His Father. Jesus chose to spend time early in the morning, before the busyness of the day overtook Him. He also went away from the house, to a quiet place where he would not be disturbed.

Application: If Jesus needed time alone with His Father to refresh and further know His Will, how much more do I? My word for the year is Purpose ~ as in Intentionally focusing my heart on spending time with my Jesus. Do I consider spending time with God alone, away from the busyness of life, a necessity? Or a chore? Do I look forward to spending time with God before my day starts? Do I look forward to spending time with God as my day ends? Do I look forward to spending time with God at all?

Prayer: “Lord, please grow my passion for You, and give me more of a passion for spending time with You and for the things that touch Your heart. Wake me before dawn with a joy and a longing to spend time in Your Presence. May I delight in our time together. In Jesus Name, Amen.”

prayer

Leave a Reply

